Tags

, , , ,

Cheeses

Cheeeeeese. Yeah.

I was recently berated by a friend for untagging unflattering pictures on Facebook.  I fail to understand why you would not impose some sort of quality control on your online photo albums and she fails to understand why I cannot “get with it”.  I have other friends who tell me I should use Facebook more often.  This is one of those situations where none of us is right or wrong, it just means that although our timelines and walls are generic, the personalities behind the contents are very different. 

Of course this should be obvious.  If you are not a person who indulges much in small talk and is quite introvert in company, it is likely that you will not feel comfortable broadcasting every small moment or event online.  People who are outgoing and sociable, are perhaps likely to be more cheery and open online.  

It is not that I have a problem with social media, after all I appear to be blogging and I also have accounts on Twitter and Pinterest, but the way I choose to use these sites may be different to the next person.  I enjoy being able to keep in touch with far flung friends and seeing pictures of old friends’ children in their new school uniforms, but I am just not inspired to share the minutiae of my everyday life. 

If I feel I have something interesting to say, it is more likely to be here, or at my kitchen table over a cheeky red wine and a pungent lump of cheese.  I may even find unflattering photos funny within the circle of my close friends when they’re not displayed publically for all my work colleagues, acquaintances and friends of friends.  Maybe I am not ‘with it’ and maybe I lack a sense of humour, but I am never going to be comfortable with producing an ongoing broadcast of my life, either on, or offline.

